Directeur de recherche
ED 436
Available to host a PhD student


The goal of the research team is to analyze the roles played by environmental and genetic factors, as well as the interactions between these components, in the etiology and treatment of psychiatric...

Biographie / Publications

PhD Neurophysiology: University Pierre et Marie Curie Paris VI - 1981

Doctorat d?Etat es-Sciences (HDR): University Pierre et Marie Curie Paris VI – 1988


Directeur de Recherche (DR2) Inserm

Visiting Professor University Federal of Santa Catarina Florianopolis, Brazil

Team Leader: Pathophysiology of anxio-depressive and addictive disorders

Centre de Psychiatrie et Neuroscience

Inserm 894

91, Bd de l'Hôpital - 75634 Paris Cedex 13

tel: 01 40 77 97 07 fax: 01 40 77 97 90



Research Activity

1978-1979: Inserm U 52 (Lyon, Pr. M. Jouvet)

1979-1981: Inserm U 3 (Paris, Pr. J. Scherrer)

1981-1982: Dept of Psychology, Princeton Univ. (Princeton, USA, Pr. B.L. Jacobs)

1982-1984: Inserm U 3 (Paris, Pr. J. Scherrer)

1984-1986: Inserm U 29 (Paris, Dr. Y. Ben-Ari)

1985-2008: Inserm U 288/UMR 677 (Paris, Dr. M. Hamon)

2008- Now: Inserm U 894 (Paris, Dr. J. Epelbaum)


Expertise and Editing activities

Expertise Collective Inserm (Médicaments Psychotropes : Consommations et Pharmacodépendances), 2012

Expert at European Commissions within the frame of i) the 5°, 6° and 7° FWP, ii) ERC and iii) European organizations (Wellcome Trust, UK ; MRC, UK ; MIUR, IT ; Spanish Ministry of Health, S, FRNS, Be).

Editor board for Neurochemical Research (2004-2010)

Editor board for Naunyn-Schmiedeberg Archives of Pharmacology (2011-)

Editor board for Neuroscience (2012-)

Editor board for Courrier des Addictions (2012-)

Editorial Board of Frontiers in Neuropharmacology (2012-)


Scientific Societies

Société des Neurosciences (elected at the Administrative Council 2005-2009, and at the Nominating Committee 2011-2015)

Société Française de Pharmacologie

Association Française de Psychiatrie Biologique et de Neuropsychopharmacologie

European Collegium of Neuropsychopharmacology (ECNP) (nominated at the External Review Board and the Nominating Committee,

2009-2013, and at the Executive Committee, 2013-2016)

Society for Neurosciences (US)


Prizes - Awards

1994: Collegium International NeuroPsychoPharmacologicum (CINP, USA)

2002: Merck Sharp and Dohme Medical School Grant (UK)

2013: Prix Georges de Saint-Blanquat (Ireb, France)


5 major publications

Froger N, Palazzo E, Boni C, Hanoun N, Saurini F, Joubert C, Dutriez-Casteloot I, Enache M, Maccari S, Barden N, Cohen-Salmon C, Hamon M, Lanfumey L (2004) Neurochemical and behavioral alterations in glucocorticoid receptor-impaired transgenic mice after chronic mild stress. J Neurosci 24:2787-2796.

Lanfumey L, Mongeau R, Cohen-Salmon C, Hamon M. (2008) Corticosteroid-serotonin interactions in the neurobiological mechanisms of stress-related disorders. Neurosci Biobehav Rev 32:1174-1184.

Boulle F, Van Den Hove DLA, Jakob S, Rutten BP, Hamon M, Van Os J , Lesch Kp, Lanfumey L, Steinbusch HW, Kenis G. (2012)

Epigenetic regulation of the Bdnf gene: implications for psychiatric disorders Mol Psychiatry 17:584-596

Massart R, Mongeau R, Lanfumey L, (2012) Beyond the monoaminergic hypothesis: neuroplasticity and epigenetic changes in a transgenic mouse model of depression. Philos Trans R Soc Lond B Biol Sci. 367:2485-94

Martin CBP, Ramond F, Farrington DT, Aguiar ASJr, Chevarin C, Berthiau AS, Boude S, Lanfumey L, et al (2013) RNA splicing and editing modulation of 5-HT2C receptor function: relevance to anxiety and aggression in VGV mice. Mol Psychiatry 18:656-665