Spinal Sensory Signalling


Research center

47 bld de l'Hôpital
75651 Paris
Alexis Brice


Université Pierre et Marie Curie
Université Pierre et Marie Curie


UMRS 1127 UMR 7225
IHU-A-ICM, ERC Grant 2013-18


Spinal cord


Knafo S#, Wyart C@ [2017]. Bioluminescence Monitoring of Neuronal Activity in Freely Moving Zebrafish Larvae. eLife, in press.

Knafo S#,%, Fidelin K#,%, Prendergast A+, Tseng PE, Parrin A, Dickey CW, Bohm UL#, Nunes Figueiredo S, Thouvenin O, Pascal-Moussellard H, Wyart C@ [2017]. Mechanosensory neurons control the timing of spinal microcircuit selection during locomotion. eLife 6:e25260 DOI: 10.7554/eLife.25260

Djenoune L#, Desban L#, Gomez J, Sternberg JR#, Prendergast A+, Langui D, Quan FB#, Marnas H#, Auer TO, Rio JP, Del Bene F, Bardet PL@, Wyart C@ [2017]. The dual developmental origin of spinal cerebrospinal fluid-contacting neurons gives rise to distinct functional subtypes, Scientific Reports 7:719.

Hubbard J+, Böhm U#, Prendergast A+, Tseng PE, Stokes C+, Newman M, Wyart C@ [2016]. GABAergic sensory neurons project onto key elements of the escape circuit, Current Biology 26: 2841-2853.

Sternberg J#,%, Severi K+,%, Fidelin K, Gomez J, Ihara H, Alcheikh Y, Hubbard J, Kawakami K, Suster M, Wyart C@[2016]. Optimization of Botulinum toxin to probe the role of specific interneurons in innate locomotion. Current Biology, 26: 2319-28.

Fields of research

Computational neurosciences / neural theory

Research Theme

Sensory systems transduce fluctuations in the physical world into patterns of action potentials which are integrated to control motor outputs. Locomotion relies on genetically determined circuits constituted by spinal interneurons and capable of generating oscillations. Local sensory information about the outside world or the internal state seem to alter thesemotor patterns by triggering, stopping or steering locomotion. Although the advent of modern physiology shed some light on the connections of sensory cells and interneurons, most studies were limited to paralyzed preparations where local sensory inputs could not be active. So how are local mechano-, chemo-, and thermo-sensory inputs dynamically recruited in moving animals? And how are they integrated by assemblies of interneurons during locomotion? To elucidate these questions, I propose to study dynamic sensory-motor integration in spinal circuits of the tractable genetic model organism, zebrafish. The transparency of the larva enables to measure and manipulate sensory inputs with light in moving animals. In previous work, we developed in vivo optogenetic approaches for probing spinal circuits.

We identified a new proprioceptive pathway interfacing the spinal circuits with the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF). We demonstrated that remote activation of this pathway could trigger slow locomotion. We will now combine optogenetics, population imaging, physiology and quantitative analysis of behaviour in order to elucidate this novel proprioceptive function at the molecular level (Aim 1). We will extend our approach to other sensory pathways in order to unravel when sensory inputs are recruited and how they dynamically shape motor output in moving animals (Aim 2). Aim 3 will unravel how sensory inputs project and select motor patterns at the circuit level. Our studies should solve a fundamental question in neuroscience: how do spinal circuits integrate chemo- and mechano- and thermo-sensory information to produce complex motor patterns.

Lab rotation

Investigations of neuroimmune interactions at the interface with the cerebrospinal fluid

Team leader: 

WYART Claire


September 18, 2017 - December 23, 2017

Application deadline: 

December 23, 2017


~ Oct-Dec 2017


We will investigate the molecular and cellular pathways enabling to detect pathogen invasions in the cerebrospinal fluid, and modulating locomotion and posture as a function of the inflammation.


Institut du Cerveau et de la Moelle épinière - 47, boulevard de l'Hôpital 75013 Paris - +33 1 57 27 43 02 - claire.wyart@gmail.com

Spinal Sensory Signalling

Leader

Research center

47 bld de l'Hôpital
75651 Paris
Alexis Brice

Institution

Inserm
CNRS
Université Pierre et Marie Curie
ED158
Université Pierre et Marie Curie

Laboratory

UMRS 1127 UMR 7225
IHU-A-ICM, ERC Grant 2013-18

Mots clefs

behavior
Optogenetics
Locomotion
Circuit-breaking
Spinal cord
 

publications

Knafo S#, Wyart C@ [2017]. Bioluminescence Monitoring of Neuronal Activity in Freely Moving Zebrafish Larvae. eLife, in press.

Knafo S#,%, Fidelin K#,%, Prendergast A+, Tseng PE, Parrin A, Dickey CW, Bohm UL#, Nunes Figueiredo S, Thouvenin O, Pascal-Moussellard H, Wyart C@ [2017]. Mechanosensory neurons control the timing of spinal microcircuit selection during locomotion. eLife 6:e25260 DOI: 10.7554/eLife.25260

 

Djenoune L#, Desban L#, Gomez J, Sternberg JR#, Prendergast A+, Langui D, Quan FB#, Marnas H#, Auer TO, Rio JP, Del Bene F, Bardet PL@, Wyart C@ [2017]. The dual developmental origin of spinal cerebrospinal fluid-contacting neurons gives rise to distinct functional subtypes, Scientific Reports 7:719.

Hubbard J+, Böhm U#, Prendergast A+, Tseng PE, Stokes C+, Newman M, Wyart C@ [2016]. GABAergic sensory neurons project onto key elements of the escape circuit, Current Biology 26: 2841-2853.

Sternberg J#,%, Severi K+,%, Fidelin K, Gomez J, Ihara H, Alcheikh Y, Hubbard J, Kawakami K, Suster M, Wyart C@[2016]. Optimization of Botulinum toxin to probe the role of specific interneurons in innate locomotion. Current Biology, 26: 2319-28.

Fields of research

Computational neurosciences / neural theory

Research Theme

Les systèmes sensoriels transforment les fluctuations du monde physique en séquences de potentiels d'action qui sont intégrés pour contrôler les sorties motrices. La locomotion repose sur des circuits composés par des interneurones spinaux et capables de générer des oscillations. La physiologie moderne a permis d'établir la connectivité entre certaines cellules sensorielles et interneurones, mais la plupart des études se sont limitées à des préparations paralysées où les entrées locales ne peuvent être actives. Ainsi quelles sont les entrées sensorielles (mécaniques, thermiques et chimiques) qui peuvent être dynamiquement dans des animaux en mouvement ? Et comment sont-ils intégrés par des assemblées d'interneurones pendant la locomotion ? Pour résoudre ces questions, nous proposons d'étudier l'intégration sensorimotrice dynamique en tirant avantage d'un modèle génétique vertébré : le poisson zèbre. La transparence de la larve permet de mesurer et de manipuler les entrées sensorielles avec la lumière dans des animaux en mouvement. Nous avons développé des approches optogénétiques in vivo pour sonder les circuits spinaux. Nous avons identifié une nouvelle voie proprioceptive qui interface les circuits spinaux avec le liquide céphalorachidien (LCR).

Nous avons démontré que l'activation à distance de cette voie déclenchait la nage lente. Nous allons désormais combiner optogénétique, électrophysiologie, imagerie de population neuronale et analyse quantitative du comportement pour élucider cette nouvelle voie sensorielle au niveau moléculaire (Objectif 1). Nous étendrons notre approche à d'autres voies sensorielles pour comprendre comment les entrées sensorielles sont recrutées pendant la locomotion, et évaluer leur contribution pour sculpter le mouvement (Objectif 2). Dans notre 3eme objectif, nous établirons comment les entrées sensorielles projettent et sélectionne les séquences motrices au niveau du circuit. Nos études permettront de résoudre une question fondamentale des neurosciences : comment les circuits spinaux intègrent les informations chimiques, mécaniques et thermiques pour produire des mouvements complexes adaptés.

Lab rotation

Investigations of neuroimmune interactions at the interface with the cerebrospinal fluid

Chercheur responsable: 

WYART Claire

Dates: 

18 September 2017 - 23 December 2017

Date limite de candidature: 

23 December 2017

Period

~ Oct-Dec 2017

Project

We will investigate the molecular and cellular pathways enabling to detect pathogen invasions in the cerebrospinal fluid, and modulating locomotion and posture as a function of the inflammation.

Contact

Institut du Cerveau et de la Moelle épinière - 47, boulevard de l'Hôpital 75013 Paris - +33 1 57 27 43 02 - claire.wyart@gmail.com

Superviseur: 

PRENDERGAST Andrew & WYART Claire