Junctional communication and neuro-glio-vascular interactions

Institution

Collège de France
CNRS
Inserm
ED158
Université Pierre et Marie Curie

Laboratory

Center for Interdisciplinary Research in Biology
Phone: 01 44 27 12 22
UMR7241-U1050
Labex Memolife- PSL

Keywords

Glial cells
astrocytes
 

Publications

Koulakoff A., Mei X., Orellana J.A., Sáez J.C. & Giaume C. Glial connexin expression and function in the context of Alzheimer's disease. Biochimica Biophysica Acta, 1818:2048-57. (2012)

Ezan P., André P., Cisternino S., Saubaméa B., Boulay A.C., Doutremer S., Thomas M.A., Quenech'du N., Giaume C. & Cohen-Salmon M. Deletion of astroglial connexins weakens the blood-brain barrier. Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism, 32:1457-67.(2012)

Roux L., Benchenane K., Rothstein J.D., Bonvento G. & Giaume C. Plasticity of astroglial networks in olfactory glomeruli. Proceedings of theNational Academy of Sciences (USA),108:18442-6. (2011)

Orellana J.A., Shoji K.F., Abudara V., Ezan P., Amigou E., Sáez P.J., Jiang J.X., Naus C.C., Sáez J.C. & Giaume C. Amyloid β-induced death in neurons involves glial and neuronal hemichannels.Journal of Neuroscience, 31:4962-77.(2011),

Giaume C., Koulakoff A., Roux L., Holcman D. & Rouach N. Astroglial networks: a step further in neuroglial and gliovascular interactions. Nat Rev Neurosci, 11:87-99. (2010)

Fields of research

Neuropharmacology / cell signaling

Research Theme

The main focus of our projects concerns the network organization of glial cells, in particular astrocytes, as the result of their high expression level of connexins, the gap junction proteins. These projects are considered in the context of the interactions between astrocytes and neurons as well as at the gliovascular interface. Indeed, it is now recognized that astrocytes interact dynamically with neurons and can modify their activity and survival, but so far such interactions are only considered as contributed by individual cells. Our strategy is to study these interactions at a more integrated level as the result of interactions between neuronal circuits and astroglial networks. As astrocytes “endfeet” surround blood vessels and express a large number of connexins at their contacts, we are also interested in understanding their role at the gliovascular interface and the blood brain barrier. Our research also covers pathological situations, as there is evidence indicating that neuroglial interactions contribute to epileptic-like activities in neurons. Finally, we are also interested in a transgenic animal model of Alzheimer’s disease (APP/PS1) in which we have observed that the expression of the two astrocytic connexins is upregulated at the level of amyloid plaques.

Team members

Cohen-Salmon Martine
Koulakoff Annette

Junctional communication and neuro-glio-vascular interactions

Institution

Collège de France
CNRS
Inserm
ED158
Université Pierre et Marie Curie

Laboratory

Center for Interdisciplinary Research in Biology
Phone: 01 44 27 12 22
UMR7241-U1050
Labex Memolife- PSL

Mots clefs

astrocytes
cellules gliales
 

publications

Koulakoff A., Mei X., Orellana J.A., Sáez J.C. & Giaume C. Glial connexin expression and function in the context of Alzheimer's disease. Biochimica Biophysica Acta, 1818:2048-57. (2012)

Ezan P., André P., Cisternino S., Saubaméa B., Boulay A.C., Doutremer S., Thomas M.A., Quenech'du N., Giaume C. & Cohen-Salmon M. Deletion of astroglial connexins weakens the blood-brain barrier. Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism, 32:1457-67.(2012)

Roux L., Benchenane K., Rothstein J.D., Bonvento G. & Giaume C. Plasticity of astroglial networks in olfactory glomeruli. Proceedings of theNational Academy of Sciences (USA),108:18442-6. (2011)

Orellana J.A., Shoji K.F., Abudara V., Ezan P., Amigou E., Sáez P.J., Jiang J.X., Naus C.C., Sáez J.C. & Giaume C. Amyloid β-induced death in neurons involves glial and neuronal hemichannels.Journal of Neuroscience, 31:4962-77.(2011),

Giaume C., Koulakoff A., Roux L., Holcman D. & Rouach N. Astroglial networks: a step further in neuroglial and gliovascular interactions. Nat Rev Neurosci, 11:87-99. (2010)

Fields of research

Neuropharmacology / cell signaling

Research Theme

L’objet principal de nos recherches concerne l’étude des réseaux astrocytaires constitués entre cellules gliales, en particulier les astrocytes qui expriment un grand nombre de connexines, les constituants moléculaires des jonctions communicantes (gap junctions). Nos projets sont développés dans le cadre des interactions entre neurones et astrocytes ainsi qu’au niveau de l’unité gliovasculaire. En effet alors qu’il est désormais admis que les astrocytes interagissent de manière dynamique avec les neurones en modifiant leur activité et leur survie, jusqu’à présent ces interactions ne sont abordées qu’au niveau unitaire. Notre stratégie est d’aborder ces interactions en considérant qu’elles résultent également de l’interaction entre les circuits neuronaux et les réseaux astrocytaires. D’autre part, comme les terminaisons «en pied» des astrocytes entourent les capillaires sanguins et qu’ils expriment un grand nombre de connexines à leurs zones de contact, nous nous intéressons également à leur implication dans le contrôle du débit sanguin et du maintien de l’intégrité de la barrière hémato-encéphalique. Nos recherches portent également sur des modèles animaux de pathologies du système nerveux central. En effet, des données récentes indiquent que les interactions neurone-glie interviennent dans les activités épileptiques des neurones. Enfin, nous nous intéressons également à l’étude d’un modèle murin de maladie d’Alzheimer, la souris APP/PS1, dans laquelle nous avons observé que l’expression des connexines astrocytaires était augmentée au niveau des plaques amyloïdes.

Membres de l'équipe

Cohen-Salmon Martine
Koulakoff Annette