Membrane Traffic in Healthy & Diseased Brain



Sainte Anne
Université Paris Descartes


Phone: 01 57 27 81 42
UMRS 894
Labex ‘WhoAmI ?’ Investissement d’Avenir, Plateforme Distribuée ‘FranceBioImaging-FBI’


mouse genetics


Petkovic M, Jemaiel A, Daste F, Specht CG, Izeddin I, Vorkel D, Verbavatz JM, Darzacq X, Triller A, Pfenninger KH, Tareste D, Jackson CL, Galli T. The SNARE Sec22b has a non-fusogenic function in plasma membrane expansion. Nat Cell Biol. 2014 May;16(5):434-44. doi: 10.1038/ncb2937. Epub 2014 Apr 6.

Larghi P, Williamson DJ, Carpier JM, Dogniaux S, Chemin K, Bohineust A, Danglot L, Gaus K, Galli T§, Hivroz C§. (2013) VAMP7 controls T cell activation by regulating the recruitment and phosphorylation of vesicular Lat at TCR-activation sites. Nat Immunol. doi:10.1038/ni.2609. § co-senior authors. (F1000)

Burgo A., Proux-Gillardeaux, V., Sotirakis, E., Bun, P., Casano,A., Verraes, A., Liem, R., Formstecher, E., Coppey, M. Galli, T. (2012). A molecular network for the transport of the TI-VAMP/VAMP7 vesicles from cell center to periphery. Developmental Cell,23:166?180.

Zylbersztejn K, Petkovic M, Burgo A, Deck M, Garel S, Marcos S, Bloch-Gallego E, Nothias F, Serini G, Bagnard D, Binz T, Galli T. (2012). The vesicular SNARE Synaptobrevin is required for Semaphorin 3A axonal repulsion. J Cell Biol 196:37-46. (F1000)

Danglot L*, Zylbersztejn K*, Petkovic M*, Meziane H, Combe R, Champy Mf, Birling Mc, Pavlovic G, Bizot Jc, Trovero F, Della Ragione F, Proux-Gillardeaux V, Sorg T, D?esposito M, Galli T. (2012). Absence of TI-VAMP/Vamp7 leads to increased anxiety in mice. J Neurosci 32:1962-1968 (F1000)

Danglot L, Chaineau M, Dahan M, Gendron M-C, Boggetto N, Perez F, and Galli T. (2010). Role of TI-VAMP and CD82 in EGF receptor cell surface dynamics and signaling. J Cell Sci 123:723-35.

Fields of research

Neurogenetics / neurodevelopment

Research Theme

Membrane trafficking allows for the communication between the different membrane compartments of the biosynthetic and endocytic pathways and for the communication between cells and their environment through the secretion of signalling molecules by exocytosis and capture of nutrients by endocytosis. Exocytosis and endocytosis are crucial to maintain cell homeostasis and are also involved in differentiation and morphogenesis of cells.

Neuronal cell differentiation and de-differentiation of epithelial into mesenchymal cells represent two fundamental models of important cellular changes in shape and function. These two processes share common principles because both imply the presence of a domain specialized for cell movement at the leading edge of the cell, the axonal growth cone and the pseudopodium respectively.

 Our working hypothesis is that exocytosis is responsible for the release and expression at the plasma membrane of proteins that are important for cell migration, outgrowth of axons and dendrites, formation and maintenance of cell-cell contacts (including synapses), and the repair and plasticity of neuronal and epithelial cells.

The aim of the team is to understand the basic mechanisms and the regulation of membrane trafficking in axonal outgrowth and epithelial cell migration. Our favorite molecules are the vesicular SNARE proteins Cellubrevin and TI-VAMP, and the adhesion protein Vezatin. We study the function of these proteins at the molecular, cellular and organism level.

We use classical techniques of cellular and molecular biology with special emphasis on live cell imaging and proteomics, as well as biophysical approaches to study membrane dynamics, adhesion and fusion in vitro. Our models include mutant mice, cultured neuronal and epithelial cells, and the reconstitution of proteins into artificial membranes.

Christian Vannier, Lydia Danglot,Véronique Proux, David Tareste,Sébastien Nola, Agathe Verraes, Aurélia Kuster, Frédéric Daste, Guan Wang, Mathieu Trigano, Auréa Cophignon, James Baye

ENP Students

Alessandra GALLO

Team members

Thierry Galli, DR1 INSERM, DU
Christian Vannier, DR2 INSERM
Lydia Danglot, CR1 INSERM
David Tareste, CR1 INSERM
Sébastien Nola, IR2 INSERM
Agathe Verraes, TCS CNRS
Jose Wojnacki, Postdoc
Guan Wang, doc.
Ahmed Zahraoui, DR CNRS